Starting this post with my gift to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Champions:

April 2, 2011. A date no Indian would forget in a hurry. I was waiting with bated breath to watch the finals of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 between the men in blue and the men in a darker shade of blue. The whole of Facebook was screaming about bleeding blue. Usually I am terrified of blood and bleeding as such, but this was an exception. :-).  True to my superstition ( I am not ashamed to admit it..:-))I didnt watch  rather follow the match ( I dont get the channels here) on ESPNcricinfo for the first hour. My anxiety started during the final overs of the Srilankan innings and it ended only with the final sixer  which Mahi hoisted for the winning runs.

This ofcourse called for a celebration and a reason for me to bake. I had bookmarked this recipe from http://www.RecipeGirl.com some time back and I thought this would be the perfect occasion for actually m(b)aking it. Also, anything so chocolatey will be the perfect way to celebrate such a momentous occasion.

The original recipe can be found here. I made 3 changes in the recipe:

  1. a. In place of 3 large eggs, I had used 4 tsps of flaxseed powder mixed in 1 cup of water
  2. Since I did not have semi sweet chocolate chips, I had added chopped dark chocolate.
  3. Instead of 3/4 tsp. of instant espresso powder, I had used 1 tsp of . 3-in-1 coffee powder which included coffe sugar nad cream powder, mainly because thats what I had in terms of coffee

Ingredients

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp. good quality cocoa powder (the darker the better)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, plus more for pan
1 tsp. 3-in-1 coffee powder
5 ounces semisweet chocolate bar, finely chopped
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup light brown sugar
4 tsps. of flaxseed powder mixed in 1 cup of water
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 cup of choppewd dark chocolate

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter an 8×8-inch pan. Line with parchment paper and let it hang over two sides. Butter the parchment.
  2. Mix the flaxseed powder and water and add vanilla essence to it. Keep aside.
  3. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, and salt; set aside.
  4. In a large saucepan, combine butter and espresso powder. Heat on low and stir until butter has melted. Add chocolate, and stir constantly until mixture is smooth. Remove from heat and stir in both sugars until combined. Let cool slightly.
  5. Mix the  flaxseed to the flour mixture and then  add the chocolate batter. Stir just until combined.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  8. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a just a few moist crumbs attached (40 minutes).  Let cool completely. Cut into pieces and serve or store.

Since the batter was a bit runny for brownies, I had to keep for 40 minutes  as against 30 mts in the original recipe.  Since the bottom portion was not baked , I kept it on high for 5 minutes in the microwave.

Dedicated to Team India... !!!

Dedicated to the men in blue…Thanks guys, for lighting up a billion faces!!!!!

I would like send this to the Best Brownie event hosted by Divya celebrating her 3rd bloggiversary:  http://divyascookbook.blogspot.com/2011/03/dulce-de-leche-browniesto-celebrate-3rd.html